Empower Faculty and Advisors

Prof. Paul S. Lalvani :

Dean & Director, Empower School of Health; Former Head of Global Fund’s Department of Procurement and Supply Chain Management; Co-chair, Procurement and Supply Chain Management-Working Group, Roll Back Malaria Partnership, Geneva; Advisor to various UN agencies and MoH.

Prof. Andy Barraclough :

Director of Training and Education; GMS certified Global Fund PSM consultant; has over 25 years of experience of working with major International Funding Institutions and bilateral donors to undertake high value pharmaceutical procurements, has contributed to the major pharmaceutical PSM publications, including Managing Drug Supply by MSH, and specialist works on HIV/AIDS, TB and malaria commodities

Sir Alasdair Breckenridge:

Former Chair of the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) in the UK. He was a member of the Medical Research Council, and he worked closely on several programs of the European Union, the World Health Organization and the International Union of Pharmacology, and as Chair of the Committee on Safety of Medicines.

Dr. Jonathan VanGeest :

Professor and Chair, Department of Health Policy and Management, Kent State University, USA. Significant contributor American Public Health Association. Teaching experience in Public Health Administration, Cost Benefit Analysis of Public Health Programs and Public Health Programs: Planning, Implementation and Evaluation.

Dr. James Kisia :

Executive Director ICHA and Deputy Secretary General Kenya Red Cross 

Dr.Ashok Dang :

Senior Director, Marketing and Technical Services, USP–India who joined USP–India in April 2006 as a Customer Relationship Manager; Senior Product Specialist,Waters (I) Pvt. Limited (2004-2006);Product Specialist,Merck Limited (1998-2004); Senior Analyst (Quality),Ranbaxy Labs Ltd(1995 – 1996);also a Pharmacopeial Education instructor

Dr. Denis Broun :

Former Executive Director of UnitAID, Geneva; Ex-director of MSH; joined UNAIDS, first as Country Coordinator in India; Ex-director of partnerships; Ex-regional director for Europe and Central Asia; was Programme Manager for the control of tropical diseases and director of resource mobilization in the WHO; Former head of the health section of UNICEF; Ex-senior health specialist in the World Bank and was in charge of the pharmaceutical sector

Dr Konstantin Lezhentsev :

Expert in HIV, HIV/TB treatment programs,treatment and prevention programs for MARPS, Eastern Europe and Central Asia region;PSM expert for Global Fund LFA activities; worked in more than 8 countries

Mr. Kaushik Desai :

Hon. General Secretary, Indian Pharmaceutical Association, parent organization of All India Drug Controller’s Confederation (AIDCOC). Former Director, Drug Information Association (DIA), India. He holds a wide experience of more than 30 years in multifunctional activities in GMP, GLP, audits and inspections

Mr. Kapil Bhargava :

Has over 30 years of experience in quality assurance of Pharmaceuticals; has worked with Indian Government Drug Regulatory Agency in various capacities and has audited more than 700 sites engaged in production of Formulations (sterile, non sterile and biologicals) APIs, medical devices, contract testing institutions; has also work alongside WHO officials during WHO pre-qualification inspections of pharmaceutical products; an expert in MHRA and USFDA audits

Ms. Lynda Wight:

A Fellow and Executive Director of The Organization for Professionals in Regulatory Affairs – TOPRA - the international professional association for those involved in medicines regulation. In this capacity she has oversight of the 40+ training courses, events and conferences TOPRA produces annually, plus two MSc programmes, a new PhD programme and the journalRegulatory Rapporteur.

Partners, Funders & Clients